Skip Navigation or Skip to Content

Previdi Leaders Luncheon

Previdi Award is presented each December by the Chamber of Commerce along with the State of the City Address by Danbury's Mayor.


The Previdi Award

Honors the late Cecil J Previdi, the former President of Danbury Printing & Litho later known as Banta. Through his leadership and guidance, he restructured the family business, relocated to a new facility on the west side of Danbury and grew the business to a 20-million-dollar organization. Tragically in 1987 Cecil Previdi along with 5 others from the company were killed in a plane crash in Wisconsin. Individuals nominated for this award are limited to those Entrepreneurs from the Greater Danbury Business Community who embody the spirit of Cecil J Previdi, and who have demonstrated a progressive business attitude, leadership abilities, vision, and who have contributed to the growth of a local business.

Previdi Award Recipients:

2023     Gary Hawley, President - Hawley Construction Corporation

2022     Lucie Voves, Founder & CEO - Church Hill Classics

2021     Robert Bedoukian Ph.D, President - Bedoukian Research

2019     George Mulvaney, President & CEO - Mulvaney Mechanical

2018     Mary Jean Rebeiro, President & CEO - NY-CONN Corporation

2017     Greg Smith, President & CEO - Maplewood Senior Living

2016     Jim Kennedy, CEO & Founder - The Network Support Company

2015     Todd Ingersoll, Owner - Ingersoll Automotive

2014     Jeff Levine, President - Levine Automotive

2013     Paul Dinto, President & CEO - Paul Dinto Electrical Contractors

2012     Farooq Kathwari, Chairman, President, CEO - Ethan Allen Interiors

2011     James Marquis, President - Kimchuk

2010     Stew Leonard, Jr., President & CEO - Stew Leonard's

2009     Frank Kelly, President & CEO (retired) - Danbury Hospital

2008     Richard Steiner, President - Steiner, Inc.

2007     Albert Salame, Owner - Albert Salame Affiliated Companies

2006     Robert Sallick, Co-Founder/Sr. VP of Engineering - Waterworks

2005     Paul Scalzo, Founder - Scalzo Group Real Estate

2004     Jerry Leitman, Chairman & CEO - FuelCell Energy

2003     Deno Macricostas, Executive Chairman - Photronics

2002     Hank Zaccara, Owner - Chuck's Steak House

2001     Gene Banucci, Co-Founder - ATMI

2000     Ted Baruch, President & CEO - Heli-Coil

1999     Seymour Powers, Founder - Seymour Powers Company

1998     Jack Marcus, Founder - Marcus Dairy

1997     A. Searle Pinney, Attorney/State Representative - George, Hull & Pinney

1996     Joseph Engelberger, Robotics Pioneer/Founder - Unimation

1995     Bernard Baker, Founder/Chairman - FuelCell Energy

1994     Ervie (Bud) Hawley, Jr., Real Estate Developer - The Hawley Companies

1993     Anthony Rizzo, Sr., Founder - The Rizzo Companies

1992     Norbert E. Mitchell, Sr., Founder - Norbert E. Mitchell Co.

1991     Pearl Dent - Dent Electrical Supply

1990     Anthony Pellegrino, Founder - Topex, Inc.

1989     Roy Young, Chairman & CEO - Fairfield Processing

1988     Albert Casazza, MD, Oncologist and Entrepreneur